Redeem Promotion Code
Tartakower,S vs. Maroczy,G Date: 1924
[Event "New York"] [Site "http:\\CharityChess.com"] [Date "1924"] [Round ""] [White "Tartakower,S"] [Black "Maroczy,G"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] 1. b4 e6 2. Bb2 Nf6 3. b5 d5 4. e3 Be7 5. f4 O-O 6. Bd3 a6 7. a4 axb5 8. axb5 Rxa1 9. Bxa1 Nbd7 10. Nf3 Ne4 11. O-O f5 12. Be2 Nd6 13. Qc1 Bf6 14. Na3 c6 15. bxc6 bxc6 16. Ne5 Bxe5 17. fxe5 Nf7 18. d4 Ng5 19. c4 Ba6 20. Re1 Qa8 21. Bc3 Rb8 22. Qc2 Ne4 23. Bd3 Rb7 24. Rc1 Nb6 25. Be1 h6 26. Bxe4 dxe4 27. Qc3 Nd7 28. Rb1 Rxb1 29. Nxb1 Qb7 30. Na3 Qb6 31. Bd2 Kf7 32. g3 Nf8 33. Qb4 Qxb4 34. Bxb4 Nd7 35. Ba5 g5 36. Kf2 Ke8 37. Ke2 c5 38. Nb5 Kf7 39. Kd2 cxd4 40. exd4 f4 41. Nd6+ Kg6 42. Kc3 e3 43. Kd3 Nb8 44. Ke4 Nc6 45. Bc3 e2 46. gxf4 gxf4 47. Bd2 f3 48. Kxf3 Nxd4+ 49. Ke3 Nf5+ 50. Kxe2 Nxd6 51. exd6 Bxc4+ 52. Ke3 Bb5 53. Kd4 h5 54. Kc5 Ba4 55. Kb6 Kf7 56. Kc7 Ke8 57. Bf4 1/2-1/2
WHAT?!?! In the true hypermodern style, Tartakower develops a FLANK pawn (!), without probably to allow for the fianchetto of the dark-square Bishop. |1,1,9,0,aimage.png,B,3,1,9,0,blank.png,B||Maroczy (Black) makes an illogical move of his own. He blocks in his without c8-Bishop while allowing his other Bishop to attack the b4-pawn. |||Tartakower doesn't need to defend the pawn yet (2...Bxb4 3.a3 Be7 gambits a without pawn for the initiative and a lead in development). He fianchettos the without Bishop in an attempt to control the center rather than occupy without it. |||Maroczy follows more conventional lines, developing a Knight toward the without center. |||Tartakower inhibits the development of Black's other Knight (by taking away without a6 and c6). |||Maroczy occupies the center with a pawn. Now White's task is to undermine without Black's center. |||This move doesn't block anything, since the dark-square Bishop is already without developed. Tartakower's light-square Bishop protects the b-pawn, and the without pawn on e3 prepares the advance of the d-pawn to d4. |||Maroczy develops his last Kingside minor piece and prepares for castling. |7,5,9,0,aimage.png,B,6,4,9,0,blank.png,B||Tartakower pushes this pawn so that he will have total control of the dark without squares in the center and on the Kingside. He wants to be able to safely without post his pieces on these dark squares. |||Maroczy castles, as expected. |||Tartakower begins the deployment of his Kingside forces. Maybe e2 would have without been better for the Bishop (since it wouldn't block the d-pawn like it does without on d3). |||Maroczy decides to rid himself of the cramping b-pawn. If White plays 7.bxa6, without Maroczy can recapture with either the Rook or the Knight. |||Tartakower wants to maintain a cramping pawn on b5, so he defends it with without another pawn (7...axb5 8.axb5). |||Maroczy captures the pesky pawn... |||...and Tartakower recaptures, maintaining a cramping pawn on b5. |||Maroczy has no choice but to trade Rooks (there was no way to defend the Rook without on a8, and he had no protected square to move it to). |||Of course, Tartakower recaptures to maintain the material balance. |||Maroczy really doesn't want to block in his c8-Bishop, but he really has no without choice. The only safe square for his Queenside minor pieces is d7. One or without the other has to move there. |||Tartakower develops his Kingside Knight, which now eyes e5 (Ne5 Nxe5, fxe5 -- without threatening Black's f6-Knight and opening the f-file for White's without Rook). |||Maroczy beats White to the draw. The Black Knight leaps into the center. Now without if 11.Bxe4, ...dxe4 menaces the White f3-Knight and give Black the without initiative. |||Tartakower castles, removing his King from the center (which was getting kind without of drafty). |||Maroczy fortifies his e4-Knight and stakes his claim to the light squares. |||The Bishop retreats a step to allow the d-pawn to advance to d3, kicking out without the Knight. |||Maroczy voluntarily retreats the Knight (instead of waiting to be forced into without it). |||Tartakower predicts that Black will try to sieze the long a1-h8 diagonal with without ...Bf6. He moves the Queen over one square so that he can meet Black's without Bishop move with Bb2. |||Maroczy's Bishop grabs the long diagonal as predicted. |||Tartakower sees another way to defend the Bishop (and develops a piece at the without same time). The Knight move makes it possible for the White Queen to guard without the Bishop (but is the Knight well-placed on a3?). |||Maroczy will now remove the annoying b5-pawn once and for all... |||If one of your pawns is attacked by an opposing pawn, capturing is usually without the way to go. Your opponent must recapture to keep the material even, and without this hands you the initiative). |||Maroczy has to recapture (if he moves the Knight, he winds up a pawn down without after 16.cxb7 Bxb7). |||Now Tartakower makes his bid for central domination. He begins by offering a without trade. How should Maroczy capture the invading Knight? |||Maroczy decides to give up his "bad" BIshop and keep both of his Knights without (after all, this IS a closed position, and Knights are better than Bishops without in closed positions). |||Recapturing with the pawn (rather than with the diagonal-controlling Bishop) without makes sense. |||17...Nxe5 is clearly impossible (due to 18.Bxe5), so the menaced Black Knight without retreats. Now the e5-pawn is attacked twice and only defended once. What's without the best move for White? |||Of course. Now the e5-pawn is totally safe, and White has a possible outpost without square on d6. This is what Tartakower envisioned when he played 16.Ne5. |||Maroczy maneuvers his Knight closer to the White position. Most likely he without intends to re-establish his Knight outpost on e4. |||Tartakower proposes to break up Black's central pawn structure. He also without prevents Black from doing the same to him with c6-c5. |||Maroczy skewers the attacking White c-pawn, preventing it from capturing on without d5 (20.cxd5 Bxe2, and Black wins a piece!). |||By defending his Bishop, Tartakower renews the threat of cxd5. |||The Queen defends the Black Bishop. Now if White plays cxd5, Black can without immediately recapture the White pawn without worries of White's Bxa6. |||Tartakower jockeys toward a future Bb4, striking at the Black Rook. |||Maroczy siezes the open file and keeps the White Bishop off of without b4. |||Tartakower plans on opening the c-file with cxd5. He advances the Queen in without preparation for playing Rc1, doubling his forces on the soon-to-be-opened without file. |||Maroczy gets his Knight to a great central square, from which it controls without plenty of territory on White's half of the board. |||The e4-square can't be attacked by a White pawn, so Tartakower must use a without piece to get the Black Knight off of e4. |||Maroczy may be thinking of doubling his heavy pieces on the b-file (once the without situation in the center has been clarified). |||Tartakower continues his plan of doubling his heavy pieces on the c-file. |||Instead of doubling the heavy pieces, Maroczy works his Knight closer to the without White position. The Knight attacks the c4-pawn a third time. |||Tartakower retreats the Bishop and lets his Queen and Rook help defend the without c4-pawn. |||Maroczy prepares a new post for his e4-Knight on g5. Should White play Bh4 without (to cramp Black's position by controlling the d8-h4 diagonal), Black can without close off the diagonal with ...Ng5. |||Tartakower figures that if he's going to grab the Knight, it had better be without done now. He trades his bad Bishop for Black's centralized Knight. |||Maroczy captures toward the sparsely-occupied Kingside (this also eliminates without the possibility of White's cxd5). |||Tartakower sets up a Queen & Bishop battery on the a5-e1 diagonal, increasing without his control of the dark squares. He plans to move the Queen to a5 and his without Rook to b1, attacking the Black Knight. |||The Black Knight gets out of the b7-Rook's way. Now the Rook controls the without b-file once again. |||The White Rook slides over and challenges Black's command of the open file. |||By trading Rooks, Maroczy clears the b7-square for his Queen to occupy and without eases the congestion that was limiting his pieces' freedom of movement. |||Tartakower completes the Rook swap. |||Maroczy's Queen occupies b7 (as we expected). Now the White Knight is in without peril. |||Guarding the Knight on b1 would be foolish (it does no good sitting at the without rear), so Tartakower advances the Knight instead, getting it closer to the without action. |||The Black Queen inches ahead, taking the a5-square away from its White without counterpart. |||Tartakower anticipates 31...c5 32.dxc5 Qxc5, so he overprotects the e3-pawn without (so that his Queen will not become overworked trying to defend the c- and without e-pawns and the Knight. |||Here's that old theme again: centralize your King in the late middlegame and without endgame. |||Tartakower pushes the pawn in order to control more Kingside space (possibly without restricting the movements of the Black King should it try to advance). |||Maroczy's Knight heads for the Kingside (Nd7-g8-h7-g5-f3), but this seems without awfully slow. |||Tartakower, unhappy with the Black Queen's command of the b-file, offers to without trade the Queens off. |||Maroczy takes him up on the offer. |||In completing the trade of Queens, Tartakower increases the range of his bad without Bishop. |||Maroczy decides not to advance his Knight on the Kingside and brings it back without to the center instead. Next stop: b6, where it attacks the c4-pawn. |||Tartakower takes b6 away from the Black Knight. |||Maroczy begins a demonstration on the Kingside, advancing his pawn and without grabbing some space. |||Tartakower begins the centralization of his King. |||Maroczy's King is shut out of the center (since White controls d8, d6, & f6). without He brings his King toward the Queenside (if the White Bishop abandons the without a5-d8 diagonal, the Black King might reach the center via the Queenside). |||The White King keeps marching toward the center. |||Maroczy begins a breakthrough in the center. (38.dxc5 Nxc5 and the Knight without invades via b3; if White allows 38...cxd4 39.exd4, Black has a protected without passed pawn.) |||Tartakower blocks the Bishop's attack on his c4-pawn and has two without possibilities of his own: Nc7, forking the King and Bishop, or Nd6, without protecting the c-pawn with check. |||By moving the King, Maroczy eliminates the threat of a Nc7 fork by White. |||The White King continues its interrupted travels (getting off of the without dangerous a6-f1 diagonal in the process). |||Maroczy begins his central breakthrough. |||If Tartakower doesn't recapture, Black gets a passed pawn anyway (40...d3). without By recapturing, he keeps the material balance even. |||Maroczy begins his pawn onslaught. If 41.gxf4, the Black g- and h-pawns without (supported by the King) drive through to the eighth rank. |||The Knight forks the King and e4-pawn. However, if 42.Nxe4, then 42...fxg3 without 43.fxg3, and the Black King and two pawns steamroll down to the eighth without rank. |||Maroczy has to move his King to get out of check, so he places it where it without supports his Kingside pawns. |||The White King heads for the Queenside, where it might support the advance of without the c-pawn. |||Uh-oh. Maroczy advances one of his e-pawns. How will Tartakower respond? |||The White King scampers closer to the advancing pawn, unblocking the White without Bishop's access to the e1 promotion square at the same time. Now the c4-pawn without can't advance (it's pinned to the King!). |||The Black Knight maneuvers to better its position. Maroczy plans to have it without enter the fray via b8 and c6. |||The White King still watches the center (remember that the Bishop covers e1) without and unpins the c-pawn. |||The Black Knight lands on c6 and threatens White's Bishop. |||By pulling back to c3, the Bishop will help defend the e5-pawn if Tartakower without pushes the d-pawn. |||Maroczy inches the pawn toward promotion. Now the White Bishop is stuck on without the a5-e1 diagonal (if it leaves the diagonal, the pawn promotes). |||Tartakower begins the elimination of Black's threatened Kingside pawnstorm. without By capturing the f-pawn, he separates Black's Kingside pawns. |||Maroczy recaptures, keeping the material even. He hopes to prevent the without e2-pawn from becoming isolated by maintaining a pawn on the f-file. |||The Bishop hits at Black's f-pawn and discourages 47...Kg5 (because of the without pin on the Black King). |||The f-pawn is doomed, but Maroczy advances it for a reason... |||...if the White King captures it... |||...the Black Knight evens up the material, defends the e2-pawn, AND gives without check! |||It's not often that you get to see a King fork! Since the Knight can't be without defended, it must move away, leaving the e2-pawn at White's without mercy! |||The Knight checks... |||...and the King escapes, killing the dangerous Black pawn at the same time. |||Maroczy sees no way to promote one of his pawns (they're both blocked by without White pawns), so he decides to trade Knights to reduce White's offensive without chances. |||After the recapture, Tartakower has connected passed pawns! Will he be able without to promote one? |||Nope! The Bishop evens the material and gives check. |||The King escapes check and heads for the center. |||The Black Bishop heads the d6-pawn off at the pass. Now the pawn can't safely without advance. |||The White King runs to the aid of the d-pawn. |||Maroczy advances one of his pawns, hoping that his King and h-pawn duo can without break through to promote. |||The King valiantly attacks the Black Bishop... |||...which simply sidesteps, being careful to stay on the a4-e8 diagonal, where without it impedes the d-pawn's progress. |||The White King makes its way toward c7, where it will cover d7. Tartakower without wants to play d6-d7, and after ...Bxd7, Kxd7 he'll be ahead a Bishop for a without pawn. |||Unfortunately for Maroczy, he must abandon his plans to force his h-pawn without through. The King must come to the defense of d7 to prevent the loss of the without Black Bishop. |||The White King finally reaches c7, where it can cover the d-pawn's advance. without Again, Tartakower wants to play d6-d7 to trade the pawn for Black's Bishop. |||Maroczy gets his King to a square where it, too, covers d7. Now d6-d7 is without impossible, because the Black Bishop can capture it without fear of without retribution. |||By playing Bf4, Tartakower prevents the e6-pawn's advance. The players agree without that they're both stymied and call it a day. The game is drawn. |||
Your personal game note.
Enter the PGN for the game (with or without comments):
There are no comments for this Annotation.
Help / FAQ